single post

Hernandez holds championship lead for Bahrain 1 heading into ADRL Round 4 at QRC

DOHA, Qatar – Bahrain 1 Racing driver Josh Hernandez currently holds a three point lead in the Pro Extreme points ladder in the 2010-2011 Arabian Drag Racing League Championship heading into the fourth of eight races in the series. This week’s event at Qatar Racing Club in Doha is pivotal in the mind of the Houston, Texas racer, but he is far from phased by the championship battle.

“I like our chances,” Hernandez said laughing. “The car is running good, the team is working well together, and with Jim Oddy and Troy Critchley-inspired horsepower, we’ve got an amazing team.”

With such a slim lead, the former multiple-times world champion is watching every qualifying round, knowing that each point is critical. With two final-round appearances and one win, his ’57 Chevy Pro Extreme Pro Mod is in prime form.

“There are no changes to the car really since the last time we raced. We’re going to make some minor adjustments like we do every time we go down the race track, but the car is looking pretty good so far.

“We’ll just turn a few knobs here and there, and see if we can make it go a little bit faster,” he said.

Running on the same QRC dragstrip as the previous events would seem to offer a constant in the setup, but Hernandez said every day is different in the Qatar desert.

“Racing at the same racetrack every weekend, you think we’d have a line on it pretty fast, but the conditions change every time we hit the strip. It has presented its challenges, but the team has stepped up and met those challenges every weekend.

“I feel great, and I can’t wait to get behind the wheel this Thursday,” Hernandez said.

Qualifying is scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. local time Thursday, January 6 and conclude Friday beginning at 2 p.m. followed by three rounds of eliminations.

Pro Extreme Points (after 3 of 8 races)
Josh Hernandez 996
Frankie Taylor 993
J R Todd 894
Rickie Smith 687
Todd Tutterow 490
Alex Hossler 385
Mike Stawicki 378
Von Smith 281
Bader Ahli 179
Wes Johnston 150
Ellis Vial Jr 50
Ali Aryan 50
Khalid Al-Thani 25
Matt Smith 25